Zontians as SCV Women of the Year

Since its founding in 1974, Zontians have been recognized as outstanding community volunteers. They have played a large part in establishing the community as it developed and have done so in assisting numerous charitable activities such as the Boys and Girls Club, Canyon Theatre Guild, Red Cross, Safe Rides, the HMNMH Hospital Guild, Child & Family Center, and more, including in the founding of the City of Santa Clarita itself. (Carmen Sarro's employee number at the City was 001.) Members of the club have been selected 21 times as Women of the Year because of their dedicated community service. That number represents 45% of all the women named to this honor. Here they are:

1975 Connie Worden-Roberts

1976 Joyce Wayman

1977 Sara-Faye Wood

1978 Juanita Heinley

1979 Anne Lynch

1983 Barbara S. Cochran

1984 Jo Anne Darcy

1985 Carmen Sarro

1986 Mary Spring

1989 Jami Kennedy

1991 Ruth Clark

1994 Pat Allen

1995 Laurene Weste

1997 Pat Warford

1999 Pat Willett

2000 Betty Seldner

2002 Adele Macpherson

2008 Judy Penman

2014 Cheryl Gray

2016 Lois Bauccio

2018 Gloria Mercado-Fortine

Eight of these ladies are still members of SCV Zonta and going strong giving volunteer service to Zonta and to the Santa Clarita Community in many ways.